Library Services: Complex Chronic Diseases: Home

Understanding pain

Explain Pain by G. Lorimer Moseley; David S. Butler
Publication Date: 2003
All pain is real, and for many people it is a debilitating part of everyday life. However, it is now known that the more we understand pain, the less we will hurt. Modern neurophysiology, brain imaging, immunology, psychology, pain sciences and thousands of peoples’ pain stories now provide a revolutionary and new way to treat pain. This book discusses how pain experiences are constructed in response to dangers and threats in our bodies and influenced by our thoughts, beliefs and context.
Explain Pain Handbook: Protectometer by G. Lorimer Moseley; David S. Butler
Publication Date: 2015
This easily accessible book for people experiencing pain introduces the ‘Protectometer’ – a ground breaking pain treatment tool that is a key element of the Explain Pain toolkit. This handbook helps you understand your personal pain formula, identify your DIMs (Danger in Me) and SIMs (Safety in Me) and provides six clear strategies for recovery from pain.
Chronic pain: An integrated biobehavioral approach by Herta Flor; Dennis C. Turk
Publication Date: 2011
This book integrates current psychological understanding with biomedical knowledge about chronic pain. With an emphasis on psychological factors associated with chronic pain states, this volume includes recommendations for a structured assessment plan.

Coping with CCD - Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT)

Mind over Mood, Second Edition by Dennis Greenberger; Christine A. Padesky; Aaron T. Beck (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2015
Discover simple yet powerful steps you can take to overcome emotional distress and feel happier, calmer, and more confident. This life-changing book uses cognitive-behavioral therapy to conquer depression, anxiety, panic attacks, anger, guilt, shame, low self-esteem, eating disorders, substance abuse, and relationship problems.
Antidepressant Skills Workbook: Self-care Depression Program by Dan Bilsker; Randy Paterson
Publication Date: 2005
This book is a self-care manual based on scientific research about which strategies work best in managing depression. It provides an overview of depression, explains how it can be effectively managed, and gives a step-by-step guide to changing patterns that trigger depression. This book will show you how to use cognitive and behavioural methods to make important changes in thinking and actions that help one to emerge from depression and make it less likely to recur. This book is intended for individuals with depressed mood or concerned partners, family members or friends who want to help a depressed individual.

Living well with CCDP

Everyday living

Brain Rules: 2 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School by John Medina
Publication Date: 2014
Dr. John Medina, a molecular biologist, shares his lifelong interest in how the brain sciences might influence the way we teach our children and the way we work. In each chapter, he describes a brain rule - what scientists know for sure about how our brains work - and then offers transformative ideas for our daily lives.

Self-soothing

50 Ways to Soothe Yourself Without Food by Susan Albers
Publication Date: 2009
Experts estimate that 75 percent of overeating is triggered by our emotions, not physical hunger. The good news is you can instead soothe yourself through dozens of mindful activities that are healthy for both body and mind. Susan Albers offers a collection of mindfulness skills and practices for relaxing the body in times of stress and ending your dependence on eating as a means of coping with difficult emotions. You'll not only discover easy ways to soothe urges to overeat, you'll also learn how to differentiate emotion-driven hunger from healthy hunger.
50 More Ways to Soothe Yourself Without Food by Susan Albers
Publication Date: 2015
If you're an emotional overeater, you may turn to food to cope with stress and sadness, enhance joy, and bring a sense of comfort. But, over time, overeating can cause weight gain, heart disease, diabetes, and many other health problems. In this book, you will find fifty more mindful and healthy activities to help you replace your need to overeat. In addition, the activities in the book, such as yoga, aromatherapy, and breathing exercises, will help you gain a greater overall sense of well-being and appreciation for your body.

Sleep

Goodnight Mind by Colleen E. Carney; Rachel Manber
Publication Date: 2013
Insomnia is the most common sleep disorder faced by the general population today. This is a great book for anyone who is looking for effective therapy to treat insomnia without the use of medication. Written by two psychologists who specialize in sleep disorders, the book contains helpful exercises and insights into how you can better manage your thoughts at bedtime, and finally get some sleep.
The Sleep Solution by W. Chris Winter
Publication Date: 2017
With cutting-edge sleep science and time-tested techniques, this book will help anyone achieve healthy sleep and eliminate pills, pain, and fatigue. This book provides an exciting journey of sleep self-discovery and understanding that will help you custom design specific interventions to fit your lifestyle.

Body image

Health at Every Size by Linda Bacon; Lindo Bacon
Publication Date: 2010
This book has been scientifically proven to boost health and self-esteem. Tune in to your body's expert guidance. Find the joy in movement. Eat what you want, when you want, choosing pleasurable foods that help you to feel good. You too can feel great in your body right now - and this book will show you how.

Fibromyalgia resources

The Complete Fibromyalgia Health, Diet Guide and Cookbook by Louise S. McCrindle; Alison C. Bested; Louise S. McCrindle; Alison C. Bested
Publication Date: 2013
This book, written by leading experts in fibromyalgia, gives common sense tools that will help fibromyalgia patients help themselves on to a road to improvement and perhaps recovery. The goal of this book is to help patients improve their ability to function and their quality of life. This book is also a source of support for family and friends.
The FibroManual by Ginevra Liptan
Publication Date: 2016
The most up-to-date, comprehensive treatment guide to fibromyalgia, by a renowned physician who herself has the condition. Ginevra Liptan, M.D. shares a cutting-edge new approach that goes far beyond mainstream medical knowledge to produce dramatic symptom improvement.
Yoga for Fibromyalgia by Shoosh Lettick Crotzer
Publication Date: 2012
Written by a yoga teacher and suitable for both yoga novices and veterans, this book is grounded in simple movements, breathing techniques, and guided visualization and relaxation sessions. Readers learn to reduce stress and manage fibromyalgia through eight sequences.

Personal experiences

Narrative Medicine by Rita Charon
Publication Date: 2008
In this important and long-awaited book Rita Charon provides a comprehensive and systematic introduction to the conceptual principles underlying narrative medicine, as well as a practical guide for implementing narrative methods in health care. A true milestone in the field, it will interest general readers, and experts in medicine and humanities, and literary theory.
Young, Sick, and Invisible by Ania Bula
Publication Date: 2016
Ania Bula paints a vibrant picture of what it is like to be diagnosed with two life-long debilitating conditions as a young adult and relates the challenges and frustrations of dealing with alternative medicine practitioners, doctors, bureaucracy, and well-meaning friends and family who always seem to say the wrong thing. With honesty and humor, she shares her journey of pain, suffering, and, ultimately, coping, both to help others gain some understanding about what it is like to live with chronic illness-and to help those who might similarly suffer feel less alone, so that they too might start living again.
How to Be Sick by Toni Bernhard; Sylvia Boorstein (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2010
In 2001, Toni Bernhard got sick and, to her and her partner’s bewilderment, stayed that way. In spite of her many physical and energetic restrictions (and sometimes, because of them), Toni learned how to live a life of equanimity, compassion, and joy. This book reminds us that our own inner freedom is limitless, regardless of our external circumstances. This is a must-read for anyone who is or who might one day be sick or in pain.

Relationships and explaining invisible illness to others

Why Does Mommy Hurt? by Elizabeth M. Christy
Publication Date: 2014
The children of people with chronic illness and pain suffer quietly. This book is a joyful, yet honest, portrayal of a young boy learning to understand and cope with his mother's illness. The story creates natural opportunities for families to talk about both the symptoms of chronic illness, and how they affect family life. Even more importantly, the story puts power into the hands of the children. It also offers a helpful "Tips and Resources" section for parents.
What You See Is Now How I Feel by Anderson
Publication Date: 2020
This book is a visually simple overview of how living with Chronic Fatigue feels. It opens conversation, clears misperceptions, and encourages understanding rather than judgement. Appropriate children, adults, professionals, and those with similar chronic illnesses such as Fibromyalgia, Lyme, Multiple Sclerosis, Myalgic Encephalomyelitis, and Systemic Exertion Intolerance Disease.
Ultimate Guide to Sex and Disability: For all of us who live with disabilities, chronic pain and illness by Miriam Kaufman; Cory Silverberg; Fran Odette
Publication Date: 2007
This book is the first complete sex guide for people who live with disabilities, pain, illness, or chronic conditions. Useful for absolutely everyone, regardless of age, gender, or sexual orientation, the book addresses a wide range of disabilities -- from chronic fatigue, back pain, and asthma to spinal cord injury, hearing and visual impairment, multiple sclerosis, and more. This guide, expertly written by a medical doctor, a sex educator, and a disability activist, provides readers with encouragement, support, and all the information they need to create a sex life that works for them.
Better Boundaries by Jan Black
Publication Date: 1998
For those of us who have walked away from a conversation, meeting, or visit feeling violated and not understanding why, this book helps us recognize and set healthy boundaries.
Men, Women & Worthiness: The Experience of Shame and the Power of Being Enough by Brene Brown
Publication Date: 2012
Dr. Brene Brown draws upon more than twelve years of investigation to reveal how we can disarm the influence of shame to cultivate a life of greater courage, joy, and love. She invites you to explore: the differences and similarities between the experience of shame for men and women, guilt vs. shame, four elements of shame resilience, and empathy as the primary antidote to shame.
Sick and Tired of Feeling Sick and Tired by Paul J. Donoghue; Mary E. Siegel
Publication Date: 2000
Unlike a leg in a cast, invisible chronic illness (ICI) has no observable symptoms. Consequently, people who suffer from chronic fatigue, chronic pain, and many other miseries often endure not only the ailment but dismissive and negative reactions from others. This book has offered hope and coping strategies to thousands of people who suffer from ICI. The authors teach their readers how to rethink how they themselves view their illness and how to communicate with loved ones and doctors in a way that meets their needs.

Coping with CCD - Mindfulness and meditation

A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook by Bob Stahl; Elisha Goldstein; Foreword by Jon Kabat-Zinn; Afterword by Saki Santorelli
Publication Date: 2010
This workbook, which includes an MP3 CD with 21 guided meditations, teaches mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), a clinically proven program for alleviating stress, anxiety, panic, depression, chronic pain, and a wide range of medical conditions.
A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook by Bob Stahl; Elisha Goldstein; Foreword by Jon Kabat-Zinn; Afterword by Saki Santorelli
Publication Date: 2019
Stress can often leave us feeling irritable, tense, overwhelmed, and burned-out. The key to maintaining balance is responding to stress not with frustration and self-criticism, but with mindful, nonjudgmental awareness of our bodies and minds. This book will teach you to manage stress through mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), a clinically proven program that is effective in relieving a variety of medical issues including chronic pain. You will learn how to replace stress-promoting habits with mindful ones--a skill that will last a lifetime. This edition includes new audio downloads.
The Compassion Book by Pema Chödrön
Publication Date: 2017
Pema Chödrön introduces a powerful, transformative method to nurture compassion and fearlessness using a practice called lojong, which has been a primary focus of her teachings and personal practice for many years. This book presents fifty-nine pithy slogans from the lojong teachings for daily contemplation and includes Pema's clear, succinct guidance on how to understand them and how they can enrich our lives.
Full Catastrophe Living by Jon Kabat-Zinn
Publication Date: 2008
This 5 disc audio set shows you how to use natural methods to soothe and heal your body, mind, and spirit. By using the practices described within, individuals can learn to manage chronic pain resulting from illness and/or stress-related disorders, discover the roles that anger and tension play in heart disease, reduce anxiety and feelings of panic, improve overall quality of life and relationships through mindfulness meditation and mindful yoga. This book is for the young and the old, the well, the ill, and anyone trying to live a healthier and saner life in today's world.
Present over Perfect by Shauna Niequist (Read by); Brene Brown (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2016
Present Over Perfect is bestselling author Shauna Niequist's motto for how to live a rich, engaged, and loving life in the midst of what often feels terribly messy and imperfect. Present Over Perfect is a collection of essays that focuses on the journey from frantic and tired to connected and free.
Mindfulness Meditation for Pain Relief by Jon Kabat-Zinn
Publication Date: 2010
This book is a soothing program with guided meditations and teachings. It opens with an overview of seven fundamental attitudes we can develop to cultivate mindfulness in relationship to chronic pain and its incessant challenges, and follows with concepts and practices including: mindful breathing, working with intense sensations, befriending thoughts and emotions, finding refuge in awareness, and bringing mindfulness into every life.
Full Catastrophe Living (Revised Edition) by Jon Kabat-Zinn; Thich Nhat Hanh (Preface by)
Publication Date: 2013
Stress can sap our energy, undermine our health if we let it, even shorten our lives. It makes us more vulnerable to anxiety and depression, disconnection and disease. This book shows you how to use medically proven mind-body approaches derived from meditation and yoga to counteract stress, establish greater balance of body and mind, and stimulate well-being and healing.
When Things Fall Apart by Pema Chodron
Publication Date: 2016
How can we live our lives when everything seems to fall apart - when we are continually overcome by fear, anxiety, and pain? Drawing from traditional Buddhist wisdom, the author offers life-changing tools for transforming suffering and negative patterns into habitual ease and boundless joy.
Comfortable with Uncertainty by Pema Chodron
Publication Date: 2003
This book offers short, stand-alone readings designed to help us cultivate compassion and awareness amid the challenges of daily living. More than a collection of thoughts for the day, Comfortable with Uncertainty offers a progressive program of spiritual study, leading the reader through essential concepts, themes, and practices on the Buddhist path.
Wherever You Go, There You Are by Jon Kabat-Zinn
Publication Date: 1995
A simple and straightforward introduction to Buddhist meditation from one of the country's leading authorities on stress-reduction techniques. Through mindfulness every moment counts, and by capturing the present and living fully within each moment as it happens, once can reduce anxiety, achieve inner peace, and enrich the quality of life.
Guided Mindfulness Meditation Series 1 by Jon Kabat-Zinn
Publication Date: 2005
With this four-part home training course, Jon Kabat-Zinn offers listeners the definitive mindfulness meditation practice on CD.

Trauma and recovery

Trauma and Recovery by Judith Lewis Herman
Publication Date: 2015
This book is revered as the seminal text on understanding trauma survivors. By placing individual experience in a broader political frame, Harvard psychiatrist Judith Herman argues that psychological trauma is inseparable from its social and political context. Drawing on her own research on incest, as well as a vast literature on combat veterans and victims of political terror, she shows surprising parallels between private horrors like child abuse and public horrors like war.
Broken Open by Elizabeth Lesser
Publication Date: 2005
In a beautifully crafted blend of moving stories, humorous insights, practical guidance, and personal memoir, she offers tools to help us make the choice we all face in times of challenge: Will we be broken down and defeated, or broken open and transformed? Lesser shares tales of ordinary people who have risen from the ashes of illness, divorce, loss of a job or a loved one - stronger, wiser, and more in touch with their purpose and passion.

Complex Chronic Diseases: Home

Summary

Understanding pain

Coping with CCD - Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT)

Living well with CCDP

Everyday living

Self-soothing

Sleep

Body image

Fibromyalgia resources

Personal experiences

Relationships and explaining invisible illness to others

Coping with CCD - Mindfulness and meditation

Trauma and recovery

Borrowing from the Family Library

Easy and free for everyone in BC: you can borrow any resource in this guide from the Family Library, the patient and family library at BC Children's Hospital and BC Women's Hospital + Research Centre.

To borrow, you can:

Use this guide:

Click the title of the material(s) you wish to borrow.

Then, click 'Add to list.'

When you are finished, click 'Borrow.' We will ask for your name, email address, phone number, and mailing address.

Search our catalogue, or

Email us.

We can mail items to your home by Canada Post. Return postage is prepaid.

Please contact us with any questions.