A-Z Database List

A BESt contains clinical recommendations based on best evidence on a limited topic or single clinical question. Developed by experts and patients and families at Cincinnati Children's in the USA.

Study & Learning Commons catalogue. Browse and borrow resources that support the learning needs and professional development of PHSA staff, clinicians, students and faculty.

All clinical support documents for BC Children's Hospital & BC Women's Hospital + Health Centre are now housed on the Shared Health Organizations Platform (SHOP).

CADTH is an independent, not-for-profit organization responsible for providing health care decision-makers with objective evidence to help make informed decisions about the optimal use of health technologies, including: drugs, diagnostic tests, medical, dental, and surgical devices and procedures.

The Cancer Guidelines Database, managed by the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer, addresses the challenge of a rapidly expanding evidence base by providing:

• Access to thousands of Canadian and international cancer guidelines, all in a single database
• A publicly available tool that is free to use, easy to search, and regularly updated with guidelines to optimize patient care in all areas of oncology
• Quality scores for guidelines (using the AGREE II tool) to ensure that you have the best available evidence from credible sources

This website is a joint project of Sunny Hill Health Centre For Children and the Children and Youth with Special Needs area of British Columbia's Ministry of Children and Family Development. The site features links to websites relevant to child development and (re)habilitation resources.

CINAHL Complete indexes more than 5,400 journals, as well as selected books, pamphlets, dissertations, audiovisuals. The database covers nursing, allied health, consumer health, biomedicine, alternative therapy, health sciences librarianship. Contains full text from 1300 journals; some journals are subject to embargo periods ranging from 3-18 months after publication before the full text is made available in the database.

Clinical skills for practicing nurses. Includes videos.

Sharing Knowledge to Combat Clinician Burnout. Find articles, research studies, and other resources. From the National Academy of Medicine.

This database includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review is a systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team). It attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view aimed at minimizing bias, to produce more reliable findings to inform decision-making.

Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties from the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Information about pharmaceutical products approved for use by Health Canada.

LactMed is a freely available, peer-reviewed drug information database focusing on the effects of drugs and chemicals found in breast milk during lactation. Substance levels in breast milk and infant blood are available as well as adverse effects on a nursing infant. Alternative drugs are also presented in individual entries. LactMed is appropriate for pharmacists, physicians, and clinicians seeking the effects of drugs on lactating individuals and their nursing infants. LactMed is a free resource provided by the National Library of Medicine and accessed through the NCBI Bookshelf feature.

All of the full text resources that PHSA can access are listed in the Full Text Finder resource.
Hint: To find a list of articles or citations on a topic, use one of the databases. The Full Text Finder only searches titles of journals and ebooks. The Full Text Finder doesn’t have the capability to search inside the journal issues to find specific articles.

Multi-language search engine searches specifically for broad syntheses, systematic reviews, and structured summaries. Also includes primary studies from multiple research databases.

ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.

EBMR combines seven highly trusted resources into a single searchable database. Many of the resources are full text.

ACP Journal Club
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) – although the NHS is no longer updating the content in this database, the archive of the data continues to be accessible on the Ovid platform)
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
Health Technology Assessments (HTA).

All of the full text resources that PHSA can access are listed in the Full Text Finder resource. Hint: To find a list of articles or citations on a topic, use one of the databases. The Full Text Finder only searches titles of journals and ebooks. The Full Text Finder doesn’t have the capability to search inside the journal issues to find specific articles.

Database of 4500+ quality-rated reviews on the effectiveness of public health interventions. Provided by McMaster University.

Health Systems Evidence is a continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems.

This multi-faceted, Web-based tool can help you select journals to submit an article for publication. The title and abstract of your article is entered into the search box, and the database retrieves journals that best fit your topic. You can also use JANE to search for relevant articles by switching the search screen to its "keyword" function. This useful tool will help you sort through the vast amount of publications in order to find the most relevant places to publish, and also to search for articles on your topic.

Evidence syntheses from the Joanna Briggs Institute.

LactMed is a freely available, peer-reviewed drug information database focusing on the effects of drugs and chemicals found in breast milk during lactation. Substance levels in breast milk and infant blood are available as well as adverse effects on a nursing infant. Alternative drugs are also presented in individual entries. LactMed is appropriate for pharmacists, physicians, and clinicians seeking the effects of drugs on lactating individuals and their nursing infants. LactMed is a free resource provided by the National Library of Medicine and accessed through the NCBI Bookshelf feature.

The EBSCO version includes full text for ~1400 journals and will connect to all the full text available from the combined e-HLbc resources. Many journals are subject to embargo periods ranging from 3-18 months after publication before the full text is made available in the database.

The Ovid version of MEDLINE provides direct full text for ~300 journals (with no embargo period), but will connect to all the full text available from the combined e-HLbc resources. Ovid MEDLINE also links to the full text from the EBMR databases.

Created for patients and families, this version of MEDLINE contains information about diseases, conditions, and wellness in plain language.

NEONATOLOGY TODAY is the only peer reviewed monthly newsletter that is available free to Neonatologists, Perinatologists, Neonatal Nurses, Neonatal Respiratory Care Specialists, Parents and anyone interested in the Neonatal Perinatal space. Indexed in CINAHL.

From the NHS in the UK, the NICE Guidance Search is a suite of services that provides access to high quality authoritative evidence and best practice.

EBSCO's collection contains over 500 ebooks focused on nursing.

OPENPediatrics is an online community of healthcare professionals sharing best practices from all resource settings around the world through innovative collaboration and digital learning technologies. Through OP, verified healthcare professionals can access academically rigorous and peer-reviewed content including expert lectures and demonstrations, interactive device simulations, protocols, medical calculators and CME accredited courses.

Orthobullets is an educational resource for orthopaedic surgeons designed to improve through the communal efforts of those who use it as a learning resource.

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 41,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).

Produced by the American Psychological Association this is the largest database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, psychology, psychiatry, sociology and mental health. PsycINFO indexes ~2500 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Records will link directly to full text found in other EBSCO databases, including PsycARTICLES.

PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Searching PubMed through this link will connect you to the PHSA library ejournal collection.

RehabPlus (Rehab +) is database of pre-appraised literature created by and for rehabilitation professionals. Provided by McMaster University.

The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) database has contents in rehabilitation, including reports from the Nat’l Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation, articles from rehab related journals and books.

BC Children's & BC Women's Family Library catalogue. Browse and download or borrow over 5,000 health books, pamphlets and videos for patients and families of all ages.

Members of the SCIRE Team have reviewed and rated the scientific research on Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) Rehabilitation to make quality information more available and ultimately improve the health of people living with SCI.

SHOP is the central access point for policies and decision support tools- such as guidelines, clinical procedures, protocols and standards - for Providence Health Care, Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA) and Vancouver Coastal Health (VCH).

The Sigma Repository (formerly the Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository) is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses around the world. It is an open digital academic and clinical focused service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types. The repository is a resource of Sigma Theta Tau International (Sigma).

speechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of Speech Pathology practice.

SUMSearch 2 simultaneously searches free Web resources: PubMed, DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) and guideline developers for evidence-based healthcare information. It groups results by category: original studies, systematic reviews, and guidelines. Entries from the blog ClinDx are displayed, along with the New England Journal of Medicine’s Image Challenge, CME cases, and Physician’s First Watch medical news. Recent articles from ACP Journal Club are also displayed.

Evidence-based tools and resources for emergency pediatric care.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

UpToDate is a medical clinical decision support resource that contains synthesized evidence for point of care use. Access is only available onsite.