Grief: Home

This booklet provides information on what to expect physically and emotionally as you deal with the immediate stages of grief in the hours, days and weeks after giving birth.

This booklet offers suggestions to parents for healing when grieving the loss of an infant.

This small book is packed with realistic ideas for the first things to do when a baby dies and simple funeral planning.

A moving, candid account of one woman’s experience with stillbirth.

This compassionate guide contains 100 practical ideas to help those grieving after a miscarriage or ectopic pregnancy. The book teaches the principles of grief and mourning to practical, action-oriented tips for coping with the natural difficulties of a loss.

This book compassionately explores the common feelings of shock, anger, guilt, and sadness that accompany a stillborn child, offering suggestions for expressing feelings, remembering the child, and healing as a family.

This book contains information on how men and women grieve differently and how to strengthen a relationship after the loss of a baby.

This book is about abortions sought due to a poor prenatal diagnosis or due to serious maternal health complications. It contains 46 personal stories, each one from a woman who decided to interrupt a much-wanted and oftentimes much-planned pregnancy.

This book is for parents who have received a fetal diagnosis during pregnancy, and are deciding (or have decided) whether to interrupt the pregnancy. Supports grieving parents, and provides information on the decision-making process, taking control, the hospital experience, couples healing together and healing apart, the days and weeks afterward, and the months and years that follow.

This book offers reassurance to parents who struggle with anger, guilt, and despair during and after the death of a baby. This book strives to cover many different kinds of loss, including information on issues such as the death of one or more babies from a multiple birth, pregnancy interruption, and the questioning of aggressive medical intervention. There is a special chapter for fathers as well.

This children's book directly addresses the issues that children may face over the loss of an unborn child and also gives parents practical and sensitive advice to help their children cope with the death. Recommended for children ages 2 and over.

A little boy is trying to make sense of the confusion surrounding the death of his baby sister. He must ask questions to the adults around him and find a way to interpret the things they do and say in order to find his own sense of peace.

This book is for parents and caregivers supporting children in the aftermath of suicide.

This beautifully-illustrated storybook is designed as a tool to be read with children aged 6+ who have experienced the loss of a loved one by suicide.

This graphic novel includes 2 short suicide prevention stories, from the perspectives of First Nations youth.

Écrivaine, photographe, peintre à ses heures et historienne de l'art, Odette Bisson aime exprimer librement ses émotions et ses passions. Sa créativité, son empathie spontanée et son humour lui permettent de jeter un regard original sur les affres et les aléas de la vie et sur le suicide de son fils cadet.

Every year, parents suffer the death of a son or daughter. The unnatural sequence of the child preceding the parent in death creates a wrenching loss and overwhelming emotional and spiritual disorientation. This book offers support, understanding, and, ultimately, comfort and hope from those who have sowed the same tears over the death of a child.

This book discusses the process of grief for all members of a family. Includes poems and proverbs from numerous cultures.

This book will help families who have experienced the loss of a child to know what they are facing, understand what they are feeling, and appreciate their own needs and timetables.

A tragic car accident inspired a father to write a heart-wrenching poems and reflections that offer hope and comfort to others, showcasing the healing power of faith, family, and love.

A compassionate resource for friends, parents, relatives, teachers, volunteers, and caregivers with suggestions for how to help the grieving cope with the loss of a loved one. This book addresses what to expect from grieving children, and how to provide safe outlets for children to express emotion.

A compassionate resource for friends, parents, relatives, teachers, volunteers, and caregivers with suggestions for how to help the grieving cope with the loss of a loved one. This book addresses what to expect from grieving children, and how to provide safe outlets for children to express emotion.

This book explains children's understanding of death at different ages and provides information on how the adults around them can best help them cope. Whether a child experiences the death or loss of a friend, family member, classmate or teacher, it is important for those caring for a bereaved child to know how to respond to their needs.

This book examines child and adolescent grief in a variety of situations. Parental loss, sibling loss, and loss of a friend are each addressed in their own chapters. Other chapters examine play therapy, protocols for schools, use of the Internet as a coping tool, and the recommendations for reading for children and adolescents.

This is a comprehensive resource for parents, teachers, counselors, health-care professionals, clergy and others concerned about the children in their lives. Suggests ways of explaining death to children and teens from a number of perspectives eg. philosophical, cultural and religious.

This guidebook will help children who are trying to manage their too painful feelings by themselves, do not let themselves cry, protest or say that they are scared, have had disturbing, overwhelming or confusing experiences, or are full of unmourned grief.

The Grieving Child offers practical, compassionate advice for helping a child cope with the death of a parent or other loved one.

Drs. Lister and Schwartzman offer us the way to have conversations that are as much about life as they are about death; conversations that anyone who parents, teaches, or counsels children can have.

What is death? Where do we go when we die? What happens to our bodies? These are some the many questions children may have when a loved one dies. The Big D helps parents talk about death and offers answers to help families through this difficult time.

Ce guide pratique s'adresse aux parents, grands-parents, oncles et tantes, parrains et marraines, etc., qui, confrontés à un décès dans leur famille ou dans leur entourage, se préoccupent de ce que vivent les enfants. Il concerne également les professionnels de l'enfance et de la famille (éducateurs, assistants sociaux, psychologues, enseignants, etc.) qui sont amenés à suivre un enfant en deuil. À l'aide d'explications théoriques et d'exemples tirés de leur pratique, les auteurs apportent un éclairage ciblé sur différentes facettes du processus de deuil de l'enfant.

This book provides age-appropriate suggestions and activities that can help younger people learn to express their grief and mourn naturally, reducing the confusion, anxiety, and huge personal void of grief so that they can begin their lives again.

This book provides age-appropriate suggestions and activities that can help younger people learn to express their grief and mourn naturally, reducing the confusion, anxiety, and huge personal void of grief so that they can begin their lives again.

Life and death are explained in a sensitive, caring way in this book, using examples from nature and lovely illustrations.

A comforting story which helps children deal with the their own death, death of friends, a family member, or even pets. A loving and tender tale that addresses our feelings of sadness, love, disbelief, and anger.

This book explains death in developmentally appropriate terms for two- and three-year old children. It reassures the child that it is okay to feel sad, and that love never dies. Includes a note to parents and caregivers with more information about how to talk about death, answer your child's questions, and maintain your connection throughout the grieving process.

This book is an honest story of two best friends, inspired by a real bear friendship, and a gentle, moving, needed reminder that loved ones lost will stay in our hearts, always.

This book describes the many emotions involved in dealing with the death of a loved one and discusses how to work through such a situation.

In a strangely heart-warming story, a duck strikes up an unlikely friendship with Death.

Traumatic events in the lives of children, their families, their friends, or in the world leave children feeling confused, insecure and frightened. Some things happen in nature like floods and earthquakes, and people also cause violence and trauma. This book is designed to help children overcome feelings of helplessness and fear.

It offers children of all ages a comforting, realistic look at loss-loaded with positive, life-affirming helps for coping with loss as a child. It's a book that promotes honest and healthy grief-and growth. This book is illustrated in the "Elf-help" style of artist R.W. Alley

A picture book which explores the difficult issue of death for young children. Children's feelings and questions about this sensitive subject are looked at in a simple but realistic way.

An uplifting story for parents and children of old Badger's friends remembering him as their confident advisor and friend, after he dies.

The Invisible String offers a very simple approach to overcoming loneliness, separation, or loss with an imaginative twist that children easily understand and embrace.

A modern-day fable, told in a richly illustrated children's book format, about a woman who has suffered a terrible loss.

This book presents ideas to help teens recognize mourning as a natural process of loss, reassures them not be afraid of deep emotions, and shows them how to release grief in healthy, positive ways.

Written for teenagers, this book covers the entire range of situations in which youth may find themselves grieving a death, whether the cause was old age, terminal illness, school violence, or suicide. The author helps youth address the gamut of strong and difficult emotions they will experience and the new situations they will face, including family changes, issues with friends, problems at school, and the courage needed to move forward with one's own life.

This book presents ideas to help teens recognize mourning as a natural process of loss, reassures them not be afraid of deep emotions, and shows them how to release grief in healthy, positive ways.

This book encourages young readers to explore the "long, winding tunnel" of the grieving process and to keep going in the face of terrible loss and sadness.

This pocket book was created to reassure teens who have lost a friend that the "feelings" they are experiencing are normal and expected in the grief process.

This is a journal that encourages teenagers to work through their grief in a creative and healthy way.