Library Services: Pediatric pain guide for caregivers: Chronic pain and Complex pain

What you can do

Video below: Understanding pain in less than 5 minutes, and what to do about it (5:00, by GP Access and the Hunter Integrated Pain Service, Australia)
This video for children and teens explains how chronic pain involves rewiring of the brain, and how understanding this process can help you manage pain.

Video below: Understanding pain - and what's to be done about it in 10 minutes (11:15, by the German Paediatric Pain Centre)
This video for children and teens explains how chronic pain works, and how your brain is involved.

Video below: Mystery of chronic pain (7:58, Dr. Elliot Krane, for TED)
A pediatrician and anesthesiologist tells the story of a young patient with allodynia, and explains the role of the brain in chronic pain conditions.

Ten tips for caregivers of a child or youth with chronic pain
Also includes links to resources for you and your child.
MyCarePath: Helpful resources for parents
This is the parents' section of the online tool for young adults living with chronic pain. Summarizes the impacts of chronic pain, how to help your child return to function, parenting tips, and overview of the website.
Chronic pain: Effective parenting for teens (by SickKids Hospital)
Lean parenting strategies for teens experiencing chronic pain.

Video below: Return to functioning in children and teens with chronic pain: The role of parents (50:49, by Dr. Erin Moon and Dr. Sue Bennett, BC Children's Hospital)
This webinar addresses the ways that chronic pain can impact a child or teen's life, and how parents can support a child or teen living with chronic pain.

Learning to live with chronic pain: One family's story ((by ECHO, Stollery Childrens’ Hospital Foundation, and the Women and Children’s Health Research Institute)
This eBook tells the story of Megan, who experiences chronic pain. With her parents, Megan goes to a pain clinic and meets her pain care team. She learns how to manage her pain, and return to the activities she enjoys.

Also available as an audiobook with breathing exercises, and a videobook.

Chronic pain (by the Meg Foundation)
A collection of resources to support families where a child is living with chronic pain.
Chronic Pain module (by the Hospital for Sick Children)
Learn about chronic pain in children and youth. Organized by age group, parents can read about how chronic pain develops, and how it is assessed, treated, and managed. The module also gives tips on effective parenting when your child experiences chronic pain.

Psychological experience of pain

Somatization and the mind-body connection
Somatization is the expression of emotion and stress through the body. It can manifest as pain. Learn why somatization happens, and what can be done.

Cancer

No Fears...No Tears: Children with cancer coping with pain (DVD) (by Leora Kuttner)
Demonstrates pain management techniques that children can use in frightening or painful procedures.
Making cancer less painful (by the Oncology Unit of the Izaak Walton Killam Children's Hospital, Halifax, Nova Scotia, 1992)
This eBook explains how to help your child cope with pain from cancer. The authors discuss the causes of cancer-related pain, and how parents can help children to control their pain.

Serious illness

Symptom Management: Pain (by Canuck Place Children's Hospice and the BC Children's Hospital)
Learn about signs your child is in pain, and how to prevent and manage pain. Includes notes on when to contact your child's health care team.

Rheumatology

Headaches

Gastrointestinal

Pediatric somatization: Family handbook (BC Children's Hospital)
This handbook explains symptoms of somatization, and how this condition is assessed and treated at BC Children's. Includes self-checks, parent-child activities, sample school letters, and additional resources.

In-depth resources on complex and chronic pain

Online
Borrow from the FSRC

Making Sense of Pain: Free 8 week class series (by Pain BC)
Making Sense of Pain is an 8-week self-management class series designed for people with pain who also live in marginalized conditions and face barriers to accessing care.
Webinars (by Pain BC)
Free, recorded webinars on the science, research and technology being used to better understand, treat and manage chronic pain.
People in pain network
Resources section includes adult and youth pain toolkits, and a directory of BC supports. Website also includes pain education videos. (No self-management groups available in BC.)
Solutions for kids in pain (by SKIP)
SKIP is a Canadian network that aims to improve children's pain management by putting research into practice. Patients, parents, and caregivers play key roles in improving pain care. Under the 'Resources' tab, you will find evidence-based infographics and learning supports.
Support kids in pain (by SKIP Australia)
Resources for families, including comics, fact sheets, and pain toolkits for teenagers.

Conquering Your Child's Chronic Pain by Lonnie Zeltzer and Christina Blackett Schlank
Learn to help control chronic pain in your child, from headaches to arthritis, irritable bowel syndrome, fibromyalgia, and more. Explains how to soothe the nervous system, reactivate the body's natural pain control mechanisms, identify effective medicines, and try relaxation techniques. Also covers parent guilt.
When Your Child Hurts by Rachael Coakley
This guide offers strategies for managing a child's pain along with expert advice for fostering long-term comfort. The author is a clinical pediatric psychologist who works exclusively with families of children with chronic or recurrent pain. This book provides research-proven strategies to achieve positive results.
Your Child with Inflammatory Bowel Disease by North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition
In this book, an expert team of pediatric gastroenterologists explains the symptoms, diagnoses, and treatments associated with Crohn disease, ulcerative colitis, and indeterminate colitis to help parents and children cope with the challenges of IBD.
Positive options for Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS) by Elena Juris
This book explains CRPS and the latest medical treatments, self-help techniques, complementary therapies, and holistic strategies for healing.

Learn with your child

Video below: Brainman chooses : Towards an evidence based approach (5:00, by Medicare local: Hunter, Bodynmind.org, UW Medicine Pain Medicine; Hunter New England Local Health District, University of South Australia, and NIH Pain Consortium)
Follow the choices that Brainman makes as he transitions toward an active, evidence-based approach to managing chronic pain .

Mindfulness resources
From the Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre, this page explains what mindfulness is, and links out to mindfulness resources for children, teens, and families.
Chronic pain (by the Meg Foundation)
A collection of resources to support families where a child is living with chronic pain.
My Care Path (by BC Children's Hospital, UBC Department of Pediatrics, Pain BC, and the UBC + BC Children's Hospital Digital Lab)
A resource for people ages of 12 -17 living with chronic or complex pain. Users can sign up for a free account, and create a pain plan to share with their health care team.
Playlist: Yoga for children (from Conneticut Children's)
This series of 15 videos includes 12 yoga practices and modification videos for children living with chronic pain.
PainBytes (by the Pain Management Network, Australia)
In this series of 2-4 minute videos, you will meet youth living with chronic pain. Learn how they manage pain, and their strategies for returning to activities they enjoy.
Upopolis
Upopolis is a free, fun, and secure online community that connects youth 10 to 18 with others like them who are going through medical experiences or life challenges. Your child's Child Life specialist can provide you with access.

Be the Boss of Your Pain by Timothy Culbert; Rebecca Kajander
Kids learn ways to manage and relieve the pain of common headaches and stomachaches, as well as pain from injuries and illness. Skills include belly breathing, positive self-talk, aromatherapy, and acupressure. For children aged 9-12.
What You See Is Not How I Feel by Anderson
This is a simple overview of how living with Chronic Fatigue feels. It also applies to chronic conditions, like Fibromyalgia, Lyme, Multiple Sclerosis, Myalgic Encephalomyelitis, and Systemic Exertion Intolerance Disease. For children (age 8+), youth, and adults.

Learn with your youth

Video below: The mysterious science of pain (5:03, by Dr. Joshua Pate, for TED)
The experience of pain is complicated. Dr. Pate identifies some of the factors that affect how you feel pain, and advocates for a multi-pronged approach to pain care.

Video below: Tame the beast: It's time to rethink persistent pain (5:00, by Prof. Lorimer Moseley and David Moen, South Australia)
This video, by a clinical pain scientist and physiotherapist, explains how you can shift your thought patterns to change how you experience pain.

My Care Path (by BC Children's Hospital, UBC Department of Pediatrics, Pain BC, and the UBC + BC Children's Hospital Digital Lab)
A resource for people ages of 12 -17 living with chronic or complex pain. Users can sign up for a free account, and create a pain plan to share with their health care team.
Power over pain portal (contributors include Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP), and Pain BC)
Youth aged 12-18 living with pain can create personalized program, and access evidence-based information and tools. Users are prompted to track symptoms every 2 weeks.
Mindfulness resources
From the Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre, this page explains what mindfulness is, and links out to mindfulness resources for children, teens, and families.
Upopolis
Upopolis is a free, fun, and secure online community that connects youth 10 to 18 with others like them who are going through medical experiences or life challenges. Your child's Child Life specialist can provide you with access.
Breathr App (by BC Children's Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre and BC Children's Centre for Mindfulness)
Designed for youth, for youth, this app guides you through a variety of mindfulness practices that can be used anywhere.
iCanCope pain education (by SickKids Hospital)
Written by health-care professionals for youth living with pain, this online resource explains different types of chronic pain, treatments, and coping strategies.
WebMAP Mobile app (by Seattle Children's Hospital)
This app is for teens (age 13+) living with chronic pain, including headaches, back pain, or abdominal pain. Lean physical and psychological skills to manage your pain. Track your symptoms, and make your own pain care plan.
Pain management apps and online resources (by Solutions for Kids in Pain)
This list includes symptom trackers, websites, mindfulness tools, fun distraction apps, and links to further information.
My pain toolkit for young people and teenagers living with pain : Canadian version (by Pete Moore, Jessica Bird, & Dr. Frances Cole)
This simple guide can help you to better understand pain, and explores strategies that have helped others to manage their pain.
Pain U Online (by Toronto Academic Pain Medicine Institute)
Information to help you manage your chronic or complex pain. Learn about goal setting, mood and anxiety, pacing and physical activity, medication, communication, lifestyle, and alternative therapies.
PainBytes (by the Pain Management Network, Australia)
In this series of 2-4 minute videos, you will meet youth living with chronic pain. Learn how they manage pain, and their strategies for returning to activities they enjoy.
Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (JIA) Learning Hub (by SickKids Hospital)
If you are a teen living with JIA, find information on managing and coping with pain.

Chronic Pain and Illness Workbook for Teens by Rachel Zoffness
Evidence-based strategies to help you turn the volume down on chronic pain and illness and get back to living your life.
Complex Regional Pain Syndrome Explained: By teenagers, for teenagers by G. R. Lauder
Clear information for teenagers who develop CPRS. This book also explains medical terms.

Dancing with Pain (DVD) (by Leora Kuttner)
Shares four teens' experiences dealing pain from a facial injury, Sickle Cell Disease, CRPS (complex regional pain syndrome) and neck and shoulder trauma. Includes animation of the brain's role in pain, and representations of pain through dance. This film explores the stages of their healing, including teens' relationships with their pain teams.
Treatment programme for teens with recurrent abdominal pain: Yoga programme (DVD) (by Leora Kuttner)
Yoga DVD for teens with recurrent abdominal pain, particularly Irritable Bowel Syndrome.

What You See Is Not How I Feel by Anderson
This is a simple overview of how living with Chronic Fatigue feels. It also applies to chronic conditions, like Fibromyalgia, Lyme, Multiple Sclerosis, Myalgic Encephalomyelitis, and Systemic Exertion Intolerance Disease. For children (age 8+), youth, and adults.
Explain Pain by David Butler
This book answers questions like, "why am I in pain?", "why has it spread?" and "what can I do to help?" Explains the processes involved during pain, and a scientific route to recovery.
The Explain Pain Handbook Protectometer by G.L. Moseley, David Butler
This workbook helps you develop a personal treatment and coping plan. Based on Explain Pain, by David Butler.
Pain Is Really Strange by Steve Haines; Sophie Standing (Illustrator)
This graphic novel answers your questions about chronic pain, like "what is pain?", "how do nerves work?", and "how can I change my pain experience?"
Yoga for Pain Relief Simple practices to calm your mind and heal your chronic pain by Kelly McGonigal
Publication Date: 2009-12-02
Written by a yoga instructor and former chronic pain sufferer, this resource contains gentle postures and practical strategies for ending pain. Also includes: deep relaxation practices drawn from yogic tradition and psychological techniques for helping the reader dissolve pain.