Library Services: Library & Knowledge Services: Home

Key Resources

Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete indexes more than 5,400 journals, as well as selected books, pamphlets, dissertations, audiovisuals. The database covers nursing, allied health, consumer health, biomedicine, alternative therapy, health sciences librarianship. Contains full text from 1300 journals; some journals are subject to embargo periods ranging from 3-18 months after publication before the full text is made available in the database.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Searching PubMed through this link will connect you to the PHSA library ejournal collection.
C+W SHOP This link opens in a new window All clinical support documents for BC Children's Hospital & BC Women's Hospital + Health Centre are now housed on the Shared Health Organizations Platform (SHOP).

VIEW ALL DATABASES

Find a Book or Full-Text Article

Full Text Finder All of the full text resources that PHSA can access are listed in the Full Text Finder resource. Hint: To find a list of articles or citations on a topic, use one of the databases. The Full Text Finder only searches titles of journals and ebooks. The Full Text Finder doesn’t have the capability to search inside the journal issues to find specific articles.
- This link opens in a new window
Books (for Health Care Providers - S&LC) This link opens in a new window Study & Learning Commons catalogue. Browse and borrow resources that support the learning needs and professional development of PHSA staff, clinicians, students and faculty.
Resources (for Patients & Families - Family Library) This link opens in a new window BC Children's & BC Women's Family Library catalogue. Browse and download or borrow over 5,000 health books, pamphlets and videos for patients and families of all ages.
Nursing eBooks This link opens in a new window EBSCO's collection contains over 500 ebooks focused on nursing.
- This link opens in a new window

Requests

New & Notable

C&W Learning and Development Supports Offered

Health Business Elite

NEW Database!

Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.

Click here for a list of indexed and full-text journals in this database.

Passwords for offsite use of resources

Working offsite and need to access library resources? If you are not using Citrix, you will need the usernames and passwords to use library databases and ejournals. If you log onto the network using Citrix or remote desktop, you will not need the passwords. For information on how to get the updated information, visit the Offsite Access to Resources page.

Try this series of Evidence-Based Practice learning modules to refresh your skills in gathering evidence for practice:

Introduction
Ask the question
Acquire the evidence
Appraise, Apply and Assess the evidence

This series of online modules is provided by the Clinical Information Access Portal (CIAP) in NSW Australia.

SHOP is the central access point for BC Children's Hospital and BC Women's Hospital + Health Centre Electronic Policies, Order Sets, Procedures and Standards.

Search C+W SHOP now

Contact Us

The Study & Learning Commons (4^th floor SHY) is open. Access to the space 24/7 with PHSA ID card. More information on the POD page.

Librarian services are available; please email ClinicalLibrary@cw.bc.ca for assistance.

Ask a Librarian:
ClinicalLibrary@cw.bc.ca

Study & Learning Commons
F4, Shaughnessy Building
4480 Oak Street
Vancouver, BC